Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you ever just feel like baking? If a weekend passes and I haven’t baked something, I always feel sad. Something about the weekend just makes me want to bake. I am pretty sure this comes from growing up and seeing my mom bake often. I always remember watching her bake a cake, brownies or cookies before heading off to work at the rehab center from 3-11.  It wasn’t that she was craving sweets, she just really enjoyed baking, trying new recipes, and sharing the finished product.

I definitely learned this from her, and I am very similar. I love to try new recipes and bake for friends, even if it’s something I don’t like! I always have a batch of oatmeal raisin cookie dough in my freezer – not for me, but for a good friend of mine, so I can throw some in the oven when she comes over. I just love baking, particularly to give away to friends – there is truly no better gift that I can give.  I know baking does not come easily to a lot of people, and I feel lucky that I learned to bake when I was younger.

Saturday night rolled around and I hadn’t baked a thing, so I decided to make some chocolate chip cookies! While I have a standard recipe I tend to use, I saw this on Annie’s Eats and wanted to try it.  (Check out her blog for better pictures and a ton of delicious recipes)! I started these at 9 and was enjoying one warm from the oven in less than an hour! It’s quick, easy and delicious. Try it soon, you won’t be disappointed!

Enjoy! 🙂

20110827-102705.jpg

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

From: Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:

2 cups plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

½ tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

12 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm

1 cup brown sugar, packed

½ cup granulated sugar

1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 ½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Adjust oven racks to upper and lower-middle positions.  Preheat oven 325°. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk dry ingredients together in a medium bowl; set aside.  With electric mixer, or by hand, mix butter and sugars until thoroughly combined.  Beat in egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined.  Add dry ingredients and beat at low-speed just until combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Roll a scant half-cup of dough into a ball.  Holding dough ball in fingertips of both hands, pull apart into two equal halves.  Rotate halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, place formed dough onto cookie sheet, leaving ample room between each ball.  Bake, reversing position of cookie sheets halfway through baking, until cookies are light golden brown and outer edges start to harden yet centers are still soft and puffy (approximately 11-14 minutes).  Do not overbake.

*(I accidentally baked them at 350 F, and I think they took about 12 minutes. They are still delicious) 🙂

Cool cookies on sheets until able to lift without breaking.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Source: adapted from Blonde Ambition in the Kitchen, originally from Baking Illustrated

One thought on “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mystery Momma says:

    I just baked chocolate chip cookies yesterday! I find baking relaxing and enjoyable.

    Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

