Lentil Soup!

When we decided to become vegetarian here, it really started to challenge my way of thinking for cooking dinner.  We can’t have pasta every night, so I am forced to get creative and seek out new, interesting ingredients and recipes.  This is one of those recipes!

I tried it once, after finding it on Tastespotting and Dave thought it was delicious.  He raved about it constantly, and asked me to make it again in the future.  A very good sign from my hubby!  I also enjoyed it – it’s really easy, quick, and has really great flavor! It’s also a recipe that is good for those nights where I don’t have anything planned, because I always have the ingredients on hand in my pantry.

I discovered the original recipe here at Souvlaki for the Soul and knew that I had to give it a try.  So glad I did!  This has become a staple in our house – I think I make it weekly.  Dave likes things spicy, so I always add red pepper flakes, and then I just use sour cream on mine to cool it down! Serve with some Pappadums and you have a nice warm, comforting meal 🙂 Hope you try this! Enjoy!

RECIPE FOR LENTIL SOUP WITH CHICKPEAS AND QUINOA

(From Peter G of Souvlaki for the Soul website)

My changes/omits are in italics 🙂

  • 1/2 a red onion diced (I used a yellow onion)
  • A splash of sunflower oil
  • 1 clove of garlic chopped
  • a small knob of grated ginger
  • 1 tsp each of ground cumin, coriander, chillies and turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp of ground cloves (I omitted this)
  • 1 cup of red lentils
  • 2-3 cups of chicken stock or vegetable stock
  • 1 can of chickpeas aka garbanzo beans
  • 1 cup of cooked quinoa (I omitted this too)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • thick yogurt (Or sour cream, my fave) and chopped coriander to garnish
  • squeeze of lime juice
  1. Heat the oil in a thick bottomed saucepan and fry off the onions on a medium heat (I cook until translucent).
  2. Add the ground spices and stir until it becomes aromatic.
  3. Add the garlic and ginger and stir again for a few minutes.
  4. Add the red lentils and toss in the spice mixture for one minute.
  5. Add the chicken or veggie stock and cook on high heat till it comes to a rapid boil.
  6. Lower the heat and let the ingredients simmer for about 10-15 mins. Season to taste.
  7. Remove from the heat and blend using a stab blender or do it manually using a regular blender (I use a food processor). (If it gets too much like dhal/paste, just have some extra veggie broth on hand to add at the end!)
  8. Add the drained and rinsed chickpeas and let it simmer for another 5 mins. (I like to add the chickpeas before processing – but you can do it either way).
  9. Take off the heat and stir through the cooked quinoa.
  10. Squeeze a little lime juice.
  11. Garnish with a dollop of thick yogurt and chopped coriander.
2 thoughts on “Lentil Soup!

  1. Amy says:

    Hey Jen!

    I hope that you and your husband had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I was just wondering what prompted the two of you to become vegetarian?

    Hope all is well!

    Amy

  2. kay says:

    I can vouch for how good this soup is! We loved it when we had it during our visit.

Leave a Reply

