Black bean, corn and pineapple enchiladas!

Doha has no shortage of good places to eat – everything from Indian to Iranian, Moroccan and Lebanese – but not much Mexican at all.  And its something that I crave often! ( I will definitely be stopping at El Campesino in Pittsburgh at some point – best tamales ever!).

I usually cook tacos or something at home weekly to solve that Mexican food craving.  When I found this, I knew I had to try it! Black beans and corn are a great combo, and the addition of pineapples intrigued me. I promise you, they are really good, don’t leave them out! ! Plus, I used medium enchilada sauce by accident, so these were spicy! I needed the sweetness of the pineapples and some sour cream to tame it down for me!

Don’t mind my terrible picture….I completely forgot to take it until after we had all ready started eating! (We were hungry!). Here’s what it looks like:

This recipe initially comes from Branny Boils Over, which is a great resource for me of vegetarian meals. (She cut back on the cheese and included carrots, to help make this recipe vegan).  I found it here, at Thyme for Nourishment, and she has a much better picture than I do! 🙂 Definitely try this recipe soon – its delicious, and you won’t miss the meat 🙂 This was so good, we re-heated it for dinner the next night, and polished it off! I’ll be making this again very soon!

Black Bean, Corn, and Pineapple Enchiladas
adapted from this recipe from Pillsbury

2 tsp vegetable oil
1 med red onion, diced (about 1 cup)  (* I used a regular yellow onion)
1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
1 20oz can of crushed pineapple drained well, 1/3 cup juice reserved
1 14.5oz can of black beans, drained, rinsed
1 cup of frozen corn (I used canned, and it was more than a cup)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp cayenne pepper
3 1/2 cups shredded Mexican Blend cheese or Cheddar cheese
1 can enchilada sauce
8 flour tortillas (8 or 9 inch)

Heat oven to 350°F. Spray 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish with cooking spray. In 12-inch nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic; cook 3 to 4 minutes or until softened. Stir in pineapple, beans, corn, cayenne pepper and salt. Cook until thoroughly heated. Remove from heat and add 2 cups of cheese mixing well untill combined and cheese is melted.

Spoon and spread 1 tablespoon enchilada sauce onto each tortilla. Spoon 1/8 of the mixture over sauce and roll up tortillas. Place them seam side down in baking dish.

In measuring cup with reserved 1/3 cup pineapple juice add remaining enchilada sauce and mix well. Pour mixture evenly over enchiladas. Sprinkle with remaining cup and half of cheese. Cover with foil.

As I mentioned, I enjoyed mine with some sour cream, but some salsa or taco sauce would also be delicious. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

