The only pizza crust you’ll ever need…

So I know I just recently blogged about a pizza crust, but I tried a variation on that one and I just had to share! This is definitely my new favorite, go-to pizza crust.  It’s easy, delicious, and makes perfect pizza 🙂

A blogger that I follow tweaked  the Cooks Illustrated recipe that I blogged about here, and I think her changes make such  a difference! The blog I am talking about is The Way The Cookie Crumbles.  This is a really great blog – aside from making an amazing pizza dough, there a ton of good recipes, as well as comparisons between basic recipes to see which one is the best.  Here’s her pizza recipe I used – she has great pictures 🙂 She also has a good sauce recipe, and tips on how to many any dough whole wheat. You should definitely check it out!

So back to the pizza crust! First, I found bread flour at the store, which the recipe suggests using. I was really excited and surprised to find it , and it actually made the crust so crispy! (You can use AP flour, but your crust won’t be quite as crispy).  Also, this crust has wine in it.  Where can you go wrong?! I can’t say enough about this crust! Also, I don’t have a stand mixer, and this came together super quick and easy, and it rose perfectly.  I will be making more this weekend 🙂 We’re all out!

This time I made a BBQ chicken pizza – another one of our faves.  We use a fake chicken substitute, since we’re veggie, and it still came out great. This would be good with some red onions, but unfortunately, the red onions at the store looked awful. So we just had chicken, and it was still delicious 🙂

Try this pizza soon! I will be sticking with this recipe – its the best! It made 3 crusts, and I all ready used the other 2 when we were undecided what to make for dinner, we just pull the dough out of the freezer 🙂 I think this would also be great for calzones! Yum!

Here is the crust – before baking:

Here’s the pizza before it goes in the oven – with BBQ sauce, chicken, and plenty of cheese 🙂

And the finished product! Yum, let’s eat!

And finally, here’s the recipe! 🙂 Enjoy!!!

Traditional Pizza Crust

(Original Recipe by Cooks Illustrated, and adapted by The Way The Cookie Crumbles)

Dough:
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ teaspoon dried oregano
22 ounces (4 cups) bread flour
1¾ teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon sugar
2 teaspoons instant yeast
¼ cup white wine
1½ cups water
cornmeal for dusting

1. For the dough: Heat the oil and oregano in a small saucepan until fragrant. Mix in the water and wine.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook, mix the flour, salt, sugar, and yeast. With the mixer on low speed, pour in the liquid mixture. Continue mixing on medium-low speed until the dough comes together, and then knead on medium-low speed for 8 minutes, until the dough is smooth and elastic. Add more flour or water as necessary to form a dough that is sticky but does not cling to the sides of the bowl. When the mixer is running on medium-low speed, the dough should not stick to the bottom of the bowl.  (My Edit: I do not have a stand mixer and did this all by hand, and it still worked out just fine!)

3. Spray a large bowl with nonstick spray. Rub your hands on the sprayed bowl to coat them with oil, then quickly form the dough into a ball. Place the ball of dough in the bowl and cover with plastic wrap.

4. Either set the dough aside to rise at room temperature, which will take 1½ to 2 hours, or refrigerate it until the next day. If it’s chilled overnight, it will take about 5 hours at room temperature to warm and finish rising. You can also reduce the yeast to ½ teaspoon and let the dough rise on the counter for about 8 hours after it has been chilled overnight.

5. Divide the dough and shape each portion into a ball. You have a few options of how to divide it. It makes enough dough for three 12-inch pizzas. I like to freeze the other two dough balls, after they have risen, and relaxed. Let the balls of dough relax for 10-30 minutes.

6. Work with one ball of dough at a time on a lightly floured surface. Flatten the dough, then pick it up and gently stretch it out, trying to keep it as circular as possible. Curl your fingers and let the dough hang on your knuckles, moving and rotating the dough so it stretches evenly. If it tears, just piece it together. If the dough stretches too much, put it down and gently tug on the thick spots. (These are the blogger’s tips, and they worked really well for my dough!)

7. Dust a pizza peel lightly with cornmeal and transfer the round of dough to the peel. Rearrange the dough to something reasonably circular; stab it several times with a fork. Add toppings of your preference, then transfer the pizza to a hot pizza stone. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until the cheese is bubbling and the crust is spotty brown. Let the pizza cool on the peel for about 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

2 thoughts on “The only pizza crust you’ll ever need…

  1. Tiffany says:

    I am inspired by your crust making, but I am still lazy.

    Is it ok if I still buy my crust at TJs?

    • jennybee1018 says:

      You are too funny 😛 I will allow you to still buy your crust at TJ’s. especially since I miss it!

Leave a Reply

