Bilingual country

Being an ex-pat always comes with its challenges, and one of the big ones is language!  Luckily, we are in a country where English and Arabic are both commonly spoken. I am relieved about that! I know it would be incredibly difficult if English was not spoken here.  There are still communication barriers, but we are able to speak with people and not have too many issues 🙂

Since this is such a bilingual country, all storefronts, products,  logos, and other public material is usually in both Arabic and English. (There are newspapers and tv channels that are not both however. Makes for some fun tv watching, ha ha).  For us, it is really common to see everything in English and Arabic, but I thought it would be fun to show you guys what I see on a daily basis.

So while at Villagio Mall the other day, I took  a few pictures of some store fronts to give you an idea of what it looks like. I plan to take more pictures, and do a few more blog posts like this! 🙂  (Oh, and I apologize for the blurry pictures – I am just using my iPhone camera).

First, is an all natural health/beauty store called L’occitane. I love this store! Here is the store front, with the English on the left, and Arabic on the right 🙂

Here is Lacoste, a brand made popular with its polo shirts with its alligator logo 🙂

And here is the British department store, Marks & Spencer.

Pretty cool huh? I love the look of the Arabic language, and would love to learn it while I am here.  That is something I need to work on 😛 I will take some more pictures and continue to post them in the next few weeks! 🙂

If you have any thing in particular you want to see (fast food places, products, etc), let me know and I will try to take pictures of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

