Thunderstorm in Doha! :-)

Waking up this moning, it seemed like a typical morning with the sun shining, and weather in the mid-70’s.  However, as we started to drive to Education City, we quickly realized that it was quite windy and dusty, which made our drive into work difficult, with low visibility in a few areas.

We drove home in similar weather, and noticed that everything had gotten very dusty from it being blown all over the place.  As we were relaxing at home this evening, all the sudden, we saw huge strikes of lightning outside our window! It was crazy! I have never seen lightning like this – it was three or four flashes in a row! I wish I could have gotten it on film.

Accompanying the lightning was thunder, and a downpour of rain! It was kind of a relief to have some rain to clean all that dust out of the air.  We rarely get rain in Doha, so I am always excited when we get a little glimpse of it.  (Although it seems we have had more than I was ever expecting – I heard we would get about 1 day a year, so far there have been at least 5 days with rain this year so far!)

Good luck to all of you who are expecting a big snowstorm this weekend –  I would love to be snowed in 🙂 But I will take the rain for now! I have said it before, and I’ll say it again – you won’t know how much you miss rain, snow, other precipitation until you no longer have it!

2 thoughts on “Thunderstorm in Doha! :-)

  1. Marjorie says:

    “it was quite windy and dusty … with low visibility in a few areas”

    Welcome to your first sandstorm. I know you thought they’d be more dramatic. 🙂

  2. kay says:

    I hope we have lots of snow for you and David when you come for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

