Lulu Hypermarket!

While driving today I had the opportunity to take pictures of my favorite grocery store – Lulu Hypermarket! And this is certainly a hypermarket – there is a department store on the second floor, along with a grocery store, including a hot foods section, bakery, and fresh fish section. It is pretty awesome 🙂

This store has been quite the blessing for me when I started grocery shopping. I was nervous about what would be available here, and thanks to LuLu, just about anything I want/need is probably here. (Except for bacon!!!!). Also, once Dave became vegetarian, this store has an amazing selection of fake veggie meat, so it has helped me make normal dinners like tacos and chili!

During the day, it looks like a normal store, as you can see below.  Nothing too fancy, just your normal entrance to a super market.

But at night it transforms into a Christmas light lovers dream! This was actually taken from the highway, so you can tell how crazy the lights are! It is absolutely amazing!

While in the store today, I was shocked to discover  something I was craving over the holidays. Canned pumpkin! I never really looked for it over Thanksgiving, and now I wish I would have! I will be making myself a pumpkin pie very soon! (Although I will have to eat it by myself – Dave does not care for it) 😦

Hope this shows you a little bit about what grocery shopping is like in Doha! 🙂 Pretty similar to the States 🙂 I will try to blog more about my daily activities, since I can blog from my iPhone.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Lulu Hypermarket!

  1. Marjorie says:

    Word on the street was that they ran out of canned pumpkin just before Thanksgiving.

    If you don’t want to eat the whole pie by yourself, I am willing to take that bullet for you. 😉

  2. Candice says:

    I have trouble finding canned pumpkin in the US sometimes too! Those lights are spectacular. Does it feel like you’re shopping in Vegas? 🙂

  3. Kay says:

    I don’t know where that boy, David came from! I love pumpkin pie. His Dad loves pumpkin pie. His sister loves pumpkin pie. I believe it is actually a health food – all those yummy pumpkin nutients. And the whipped cream adds more dairy goodness.

Leave a Reply

