A New Year

Welcome 2010! The beginning of a new year is always a time for fresh beginnings, resolutions, and hope for the upcoming year.  This year is no different. As we wave good bye to 2009, and welcome 2010, there are a few things I hope to accomplish in the coming year. They are sort of like resolutions, but I hate putting a name to it, so we will just say they are things I hope to improve upon!

1. I  want to have my student loans paid off by the end of 2010/early 2011.  This is my main goal for the year, so I knock out my only debt, and then we can concentrate on Dave’s student loans. Then someday, maybe we can save for a house. Oops, I am getting ahead of myself!

2. I want to create a budget for our living expenses. We are fortunate to not have any living expenses here, but I want to make sure we are using our money wisely. (I know I can count on my sister and good friend Tiffany – who are budget wizzes for help with this!)

3. There is a gym at my workplace, and I want to start using it at least 3 times a week – if not more. I miss the days when I was working out at the Homestead library.  I felt good and enjoyed my workouts. I want to get back to that! No specific weight loss goals, just to get in shape and feel good about myself.

4. Finally, now that we have been in Doha for a few months and are feeling settled, I think it is time for us to start traveling! Even if we only do short trips to Bahrain, Dubai, Oman, etc to start, that would be fine. I am ready to start seeing new places soon!

Feel free to post your resolutions in the comments, and we can help hold each other accountable! 🙂 Happy New Year, hope 2010 is great for all of you! !

3 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Tiffany says:

    Those are awesome resolutions!

    I am, of course, excited for you to pay off your loans. It is so very freeing. And when you knock out Dave’s you will be absolutely giddy!! Good luck with the budgeting, but beware; it is addicting!!

    Our resolutions are to live simply and give our time and resources generously. We are not rich by any means, but we never have to worry about a roof over our head or food on our table. How fortunate! We need to focus on the difference between wants and needs, and use some of the $ from our wants to give to those who are in real need.
    I think we might sponsor a child in a 3rd world country! I have never been so excited!

    Ps. My Dave won’t eat pumpkin pie, either. I always want to make one, but I can’t eat it by myself. Luckily, Noah LOVES pumpkin, so I figure by next year he will be ready for pie. Woo hoo!

  2. Kay says:

    Tiffany’s resolutions kind of make mine seem petty and selfish. Ed and I have sponsored various childern in Brazil through the Christian Children’s Fund for the past 30 years – we get points for that right?

    My hopes for the new year are to take better care of myself – to eat mindfully, to be physically active at least 30 minutes a day and to hike/cross country ski (depending on the weather) every possible weekend.

  3. Tiffany says:

    I like your resolutions, Kay!

    I should have resolutions like that, too, but I am too lazy!

Leave a Reply

