Christmas Day Dinner

After our delicious Christmas Eve dinner, Dave and I decided to not eat much the next day since we were going to have a five course meal for dinner. For this dinner, we chose Porcini, which is an Italian restaurant at the Ritz-Carlton hotel.

We arrived at the Ritz and used their valet service for our car, so we were dropped off at the door. We entered the lobby and headed down the steps to where Porcini is located, and as we came down the steps, we saw a huge gingerbread house! It was made of cardboard, but there were real graham crackers all over it. It was pretty funny!

We had made reservations for dinner, again, so we were seated at a table, and not rushed through dinner at all. We ordered sparkling water, and Dave and I each had a glass of wine with our dinner. There was a menu card at our table so we could see what was being offered for dinner. The only selection to be made was the main course – either beef or fish.Ā  Dave chose the beef and I chose the fish. There were also Christmas crackers at our place setting again, so that meant more paper crowns and little gifts for Dave and I šŸ™‚

I took pictures of each course, so you could all feel like you were there! (I apologize again, I took the pictures with my iPhone, so they are a little blurry). Each course was listed in Italian, then the English description was underneath. I am just going to include the description in English šŸ™‚

So the first course, or amouse bouoche was a shaving of milk fed lamb fillet and bell peppers marmalade. This was delicious! The lamb was a delicate slice, and it went well with the pepper marmalade.Ā  I dislike bell peppers but I wanted to try everything, and this was great.

Our second course, or antipasto was sea scallop on soft Enemonzo polenta and fine herbs.Ā  I rarely eat scallops, but I know (from Hell’s Kitchen) that they can be difficult to cook well, not overdone or underdone. Well these were perfect! The scallops were seared nicely, and had a great flavor.Ā  Next to the scallops were carmelized onions, and they were dee-lish. This was the first time I have had polenta, and it was good and complemented the scallops well.

Moving on to the third course! It was pasta (my favorite) and it was half moon ravioli with artichokes and shrimps, celery root sauce. The ravioli was so good! Really great flavor, and really fresh. (Oh yeah, I forgot to take the picture as soon as it arrived, so the ravioli is missing a bite) šŸ™‚

Next up was the main course! Dave had selected the meat course, which was braised short ribs with wild mushrooms, new potato mash and Narcia truffles. (I think it was the truffles that sold Dave on this course, ha ha).Ā  He absolutely loved his dinner, he said the short ribs were tender and delicious. I sampled his mashed potatoes, and they were yummy!

I chose the pesce or fish course, and the description was hamour fillet with Grizzo lentil, garlic and rosemary infusion.Ā  When Dave’s main course came out, I had a feeling I should have ordered it, and I was right! The fish was absolutely delicious – flaky and very well seasoned, and crispy on top, it was fabulous. I did not care for the lentil part of it though, so I ended up just eating my fish, and then Dave’s mashed potatoes šŸ™‚ (Wow, this one is blurry. Sorry!)

After all this goodness, it was time for my favorite part of the meal, dessert! Or Ultimo Capriccio as it was listed on the menu šŸ™‚ The description said pannettone with vanilla and chocolate sauce, vanilla ice cream.Ā  It sounded delicious on the menu, and I was not disappointed. It was like a ice cream sandwich! Delicious and so good! If I could have, I would have ordered another one šŸ˜‰

After all of the yummy food, Dave and I were pretty full, but still wanted a little something to drink. Since it was late, we opted for some herbal peppermint tea.Ā  It is definitely my new addiction! It is so delicious, and actually peppermint is good for your digestion! šŸ™‚ So Dave and I split a pot of tea, and they even brought out a little tray of cookies to go with it. (Oh yeah, we ate some of the cookies before I took the picture, hence why it looks a little empty).

Finally, here is a picture of Dave in his Christmas crown, pouring himself some peppermint tea! šŸ™‚ While we were drinking our tea, we had a nice conversation with one of our waiters, who said he has been here for 7 years, and likes Doha because it is a peaceful, quiet city, which is true. He said that he feels lucky to be working for the Ritz, because they treat their employees well, which is not always the case for workers in the area.Ā  He said he hoped to see us again at the restaurant, and we told him we would definitely be back!

After dinner, Dave and I headed home, got into our PJ’s and watched It’s a Wonderful Life – our Christmas movie. It made me cry as always, and made me thankful for all that I am blessed with in my life! šŸ™‚ No man is a failure who has friends! So thanks to all my friends and family šŸ™‚ Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Day Dinner

  1. Molly says:

    YUM! What a great description of your dinner. šŸ™‚ I love how you reference Hell’s Kitchen and the scallops. Haha. These all look like Hell’s Kitchen dishes. What fun! I love hearing about your Doha fun.

    xoxo

  2. Kay says:

    Thank you for your holiday stories! I love the pictures too. We miss yo very much but it sounds like you are having a lot of fun. Clare thought David looked like my Grampa DesRosier in the ;picture with his paper crown. Not that Grampa DesRosier ever wore a paper crown….

Leave a Reply

