Ladies Tea at the Dean’s House

I have been to the Dean’s a lot recently! 🙂 Just two weeks ago, we were there for the Dean’s List dinner, which I just realized I forgot to blog about! Lucky for Dave and I, the Dean also lives in the West Bay, about 5 minutes from our apartment. So it is convenient and easy to get to.  So when we get an invite to the Dean’s, we always accept!

Leslie, the Dean’s wife had mentioned to us earlier that she would be hosting a tea for all the women staff and faculty, and the spouses of the male staff/faculty. She features lady servers so that women who may not attend normally (because of male servers) will feel comfortable attending. We received a formal invite, with the CMU seal on it, so I decided to dress up! I went shopping the day before, only to realize I had a really cute Ann Taylor outfit that I wore for my bridal shower.

I went to the tea with my friends Kira and Maiken, and since we live so close, we ended up being the first ones to arrive.  We were immediately  greeted by our hostess, as well as servers with assorted juices.  We mingled outside for a bit as the other guests began to arrive, and after a little while, headed inside to take a seat at the prepared tables. It was a lovely setup, and at each place setting was a tea cup with  a teabag, and an adorable little tea spoon with a mini camel figurine on top of the spoon. They are so cute! It was a really nice gift.  We had some empty seats at our table, so we did a little shopping to select our favorite tea cup 🙂

Lunch was really delicious! There were little finger sandwiches, salad, mini quiches, quesadilla like items, fresh fruit, and numerous desserts. It all looked amazing and tasted great! 🙂 It was a really lovely event. And total fail on my part, I took my camera, but took zero pictures.  I really need to work on taking pictures to share with all of you!

We stayed for a few hours and socialized, then thanked our hostess and headed back home. It was a really lovely tea, and I am so looking forward to doing it again next year!

Also,  I am curious to know what you, my readers, want me to blog about! Is there anything you are curious about that you want me to write about that I have forgotten? (Perhaps the culture here, what its like living in a Muslim society, etc).  Please let me know, I appreciate your ideas 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ladies Tea at the Dean’s House

  1. kay says:

    I love hearing all of your stories about your adventures in Doha. And I would be very interested in learning more about the culture and what your life is like living in a Muslim society – the good, the bad, the strange, the funny. Highway rest stops in Germany had automatic spinning toilet seats – have you visited any rest stops in Qatar?

  2. Jen says:

    This tea sounded lovely! I love hearing about the cultural differences you encounter in Doha, especially things related to living in a Muslim society. Also- more camels please 🙂

Leave a Reply

