Two Months In…

So yesterday marked the two month point of Dave and I arriving in Doha! It is so hard to believe that it has all ready been 2 months! Time really flies in Doha, probably because there is not much down time for us! It seems as if there is always something going on, which has really been a good thing.

I am amazed at how quickly I have become comfortable driving here with the crazy drivers! When we first arrived, I remember watching everyone drive through roundabouts, and thinking that I would never be able to navigate them! But now, it is way easier than I expected! Dave has also encouraged me to become more vocal with my horn, so I honk a lot more then I used to 😛  There is a really great independence that comes with being able to drive around the city without a map, and be confident that I know where I am going and how to get there.  (A lot of this is due to Dave and Kat, who are great map readers/navigators!)

Grocery shopping is always interesting here! There are many things that they just don’t have. For instance, you won’t find any Kraft Mac n Cheese blue boxes here, and you also won’t find pretzels in the snack aisle! Other things that have been hard to locate are black beans, risotto, and in general, just prepared foods. Oh, also sticks of butter are rare – because they use Ghee to cook everything! Dave is currently missing cherry licorice (Twizzlers!!!!) and cinnamon red hots or hot tamales. There is a store called Mega Mart which carries some of these things, but not everything.

Luckily, the malls have some comforts of home, such as Gap, H&M, Body Shop and even Nine West and Aldo! My friend Kat has recently introduced me to L’occitane. What an amazing store full of great beauty products! There is a Marks and Spencer, which is a European department store, and Dave loved it when he lived in Oxford, and we both love the one here! So it is a relief to know I don’t have to give up my shopping habit 😛

Of course, it has been difficult to be SO far away from our friends and family. Luckily, Skype, FB and emailing all help with that – but it’s not the same.  However, that is life as an ex-pat, and I try to remain positive in knowing that our time here is only beginning, and we have many adventures to look forward to, as well as many trips home to both Pittsburgh and Montana!

Coming up next Saturday (October 24) for us  is a desert safari, where we will explore the Inland Sea which is supposed to be gorgeous, and only accessible by land cruisers! (There is no road to get there, you must off road!)  We are also hoping to see the Singing Sand Dunes, and do some dune bashing. We have hired tour guides to lead us, so we will be safe! I will blog about that next week! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Two Months In…

  1. Kay says:

    How is the coffee situation in Doha? We found coffee extremely expensive in Europe and in some places just Nescafe(?!). Ed thinks we should get off the coffee habit before we return. Should we consider that as well before our visit to Doha?

    • jennybee1018 says:

      The coffee situation is good in Doha!!! At least, in the commercial coffee sense!

      There are 2 Starbucks in the mall across the street from us, and probably 2 or 3 other coffee cafes. There are coffee shops in all the malls, and I don’t think it is all that expensive. (I would have to figure out the conversion from Riyals to Dollars). So I don’t think you need to give up your habit before you come to Doha!

  2. Tiffany says:

    So you know the grocery shopping thing fascinates me as I love food and grocery shopping!

    I need clarification here. When you say there are no pretzels in the snack aisle, do you mean no pretzels at all or they are in another aisle b/c they have another purpose in middle eastern cooking? Same thing with the Kraft Mac and Cheese blue boxes. Are they in red boxes or something, or just non existent?

    I ask b/c those would be fun things to send in a care package 🙂
    Also, b/c i couldn’t live 3 months without those foods, let alone 3 years!

    • jennybee1018 says:

      I heart you, Tiffany! 🙂

      When I say no pretzels, I mean NO pretzels anywhere! It is sad! You don’t realize how much you like pretzels until you cannot find them. And Kraft Mac n Cheese is non-existent. Not a lot of prepared foods here….so it is interesting!!!

      Let me know if you have more questions about the grocery stores here 🙂

  3. Molly says:

    Oh man – great story!! 🙂 What an honor to have Mohamed set all of that up for you and not ask for any $ at all. I can’t even imagine how special that was. You both look so happy. 🙂

    And – is that Heinz ketchup I see on the table??

Leave a Reply

