We made it! :-)

Hello!

We have arrived safe and sound in Doha 🙂 What a trip! The flight was wonderful, and for long international flights, business class is the only way to fly. After a wonderful 6 course meal and some wine, I was able to sleep for the majority of the flight. I woke up with only about 4 hours left, so I watched some TV on my big tv in front of me 🙂 Pictures to follow of Dave and I with our champagne 🙂

Once we arrived, we were immediately ushered to a lounge with ice water, while they took our passports and got us through the process. We could see the LONG line of people waiting to get through, so it was a relief to relax and not have to worry about a thing. Then we picked up our luggage, and took it through security. (They pulled out Dave’s kilt and looked at it pretty strangely, lol!). Then Dave’s CMU crew member was waiting to pick us up and take us to our new apartment!

We are on the 14th floor of the building, located right on the West Bay, by the Corniche. We have a wonderful view of the Bay, and all the construction being completed. It is a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment! It is quite large, but we love it. Each bathroom has a toilet and bidet, so you can use either. We also have a rather large kitchen, and I am excited to start cooking in it! Our living room has 2 couchs and a chair, and 6 piece dining room table 🙂 So we are quite pleased with our living arrangements.

Our apartment was stocked with water, soda, fruit, and some other staples so that Saturday night we could just relax and not have to worry about anything. In order to help prevent jetlag, we forced ourselves to stay awake until 10 PM, and then went to sleep. We are trying to train our bodies.

Yesterday was a busy day for Dave with orientation at CMU. We had a driver take us to and from Education City, since we did not have a car and are not quite comfortable driving yet. After meeting with the housing manager yesterday however, there was a car waiting at our apartment for us! We are renting it for the next 3 years. It is a 2009 Chevy Epica (reminds me of a Cobalt), with only 52 miles on it. No 0’s there. It is my first time ever owning a brand new car! So it is crazy. Then since they parked it on the street, we decided to move it, and I got to practice driving. I went through my first roundabouts and with Dave’s help, I did pretty well! So that was good. Because we have a 2 BR apt, we have a reserved parking space in the parking garage in our building. So that is nice 🙂

Everyone here is so incredibly friendly, it is really wonderful. We have certainly had a few communication issues, but it is a learning experience, and I am sure we will eventually get more familiar with all the different accents of people we have met. Also, our apartment building used to be known by a different name, so giving directions to it is always a little confusing, and I tend to give both names.

I took some pictures of the apartment that I plan to upload, but have not done so yet. Today I am relaxing in Dave’s fancy new office, while he is at orientation all day. Then we might check out the mall across the street from us this evening to do some shopping for our apartment.

That is all I can think of for now! I miss everyone, but Dave and I are adjusting well and feeling very positive about the next 3 years here 🙂

10 thoughts on “We made it! :-)

  1. Karen Hillgrove says:

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your first few days. I bookmarked your blog so I can keep updated on your adventures!

  2. Jenn h says:

    Jennifer, so glad you made it safe and sound. Can’t wait to live vicariously through your pics 😀

  3. Tiffany says:

    It sounds awesome! New car, big apartment, and close to a shopping mall. WOO HOO!

    Please inundate us with pictures! I can’t wait to see them, and as Jenn said, live vicariously through you 🙂

    I am glad you had safe travels and I will be stalking (or should I say stocking :-)) this blog for more updates!

  4. Erica says:

    So glad you go there safe and sound! Everything sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to hear more and see pictures. 🙂

  5. Kay says:

    David’s little joke about being stuck at the US embassy with visa problems and needing money to fly back to the States aside, it was good to hear from you Saturday morning (our time). After the brief period of wanting to kill David, I was happy you both arrived safely. In chorus with the other comments – I want pictures, lots & lots of pictures!

  6. Sarah P says:

    So glad to hear you arrived safely and things are looking great. I can’t wait to see pictures! 🙂

  7. Kimberly says:

    Oh how exciting everything sounds…I can’t wait to see the pics. Do you think CMU would considering hiring me for an admissions recruiting position and provide me with the same treatment…LOL. I am so happy for the two of you! Looking forward to you next updates!

  8. Ellen says:

    Pictures? I am dying to see what Doha looks like.

  9. Lauren Steck says:

    I love reading your blog!!! I have always wanted to go to Qatar and can’t wait to read more of your blog!!! Stay safe and HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

